BMC Areas

The BMC divides England and Wales into ten geographical areas: Cymru North Wales; Cymru South Wales; Lakes; London & SE; Midlands; North East; North West; Peak; South West; and Yorkshire.

BMC Areas provide a focus for local activities and are instrumental in driving national policy. Each BMC Area holds five meetings a year, and each precedes a meeting of National Council, to enable members to make their views known and be communicated to National Council, which is the BMC’s policy making body.

Each Area has a dedicated section on the BMC Local Area site, where you can find information about area meetings and other BMC events, as well as other events likely to be of interest to BMC members.

Cymru Wales *
London & SE
North East
North West
South West

Further information about BMC Areas and Area Meetings

What happens at BMC area meetings?

When is the next BMC area meeting in my area?

How can I interact with my local BMC area?

Who is my local area chair and secretary?


* Cymru South Wales became a fully constituted BMC Area in February 2017, having previously been an outreach group. The Local Areas site still reflects the situation prior to February 2017, in that all area meetings in Wales (including Mid Wales outreach group meetings) are listed in one section of the site.

« Back

Print this article

This article has been read 1378 times

Join 82,000 BMC members and support British climbing, walking and mountaineering. Membership only £16.97.
Read more »
Great range of guidebooks, DVDs, books, calendars and maps.
All with discounts for members.
Read more »
Get covered with BMC Insurance. Our five policies take you from the beach to Everest.
Read more »