# Annual General Meeting of the British Mountaineering Council

## The Devonshire Dome, Buxton, Sunday 31 March 2019

AGM Registration starts from 9.00 am AGM starts at 12.00 noon prompt

## AGM AGENDA 2019

## Chair: Lynn Robinson, BMC President

- Item 1 Welcome, introductions & apologies [non-voting element]
- Item 2 Approval of previous AGM minutes held on Saturday 16 June 2018
- Item 3 Presentation & adoption of the 2018 Annual Report
- Item 4 Presentation & adoption of the 2018 Annual Accounts & Auditors' Report
- Item 5 Appointment of Auditors: The BMC Finance & Audit Committee recommends the appointment of DonnellyBentley Chartered Accountants to audit the accounts for the financial year ending 31 December 2019.

### Item 6 The following is proposed by the Board, in consultation with National Council, as a Special Resolution

The Articles of Association of the Company be amended and that the draft Articles comprised in the document now produced to the meeting and signed for identification purposes by the Chair of the meeting, a copy of which is annexed hereto be, and they are adopted as the Articles of Association of the Company in substitution for and to the exclusion of the existing Articles of Association of the Company.

### Item 7 Board appointments

- 7.a Gareth Pierce is recommended as the Chair of the Board of Directors
- 7.b Fiona Sanders is recommended as a National Council appointed director
- 7.c Election of a Nominated Director qualified and experienced in accounting and finance, also having other relevant skills and experience (one position available)
  - Gron Ffoulkes-Davies
  - Huw Jones
- 7.d Election of a Nominated Director with current and extensive involvement with BMC affiliated clubs, also having other relevant skills and experience (one position available)
  - Phil Simister
  - Jonathan White
- 7.e Election of a Nominated Director with skills and experience relating to fund-raising and grant applications, also having other relevant skills and experience (one position available)
  - Jonny Dry
  - Dr Kaye Richards
  - John Roberts

List of Directors continuing in office (for information):		
Lynn Robinson	President	(3 year term ends 2021)
Roger Fanner	National Council appointed director	(3 year term ends 2020)
Will Kilner	National Council appointed director	(3 year term ends 2020)
Simon McCalla	Senior Independent Director	(3 year term ends 2020)
Matthew Bradbury	Independent Director	(3 year term ends 2020)
Amanda Parshall	Independent Director	(3 year term ends 2021)
Dave Turnbull	CEO (ex officio)	

With thanks to outgoing directors Emma Flaherty (Vice President), Rik Payne (National Council appointed director), Graham Richmond (Honorary Treasurer) & John Roberts (Vice President).

### Item 8 Membership subscriptions

The Board, in consultation with National Council, recommends annual subscriptions for all categories of membership are raised by £6.00 (£12.00 for family membership) in order to address the substantial increase in Combined Liability Insurance premiums, sustain and develop the BMC's services to members and maintain a level of financial reserve in line with policy. Increases to be effective from 1 May 2019 for individuals (including families, students, under 18s & unwaged), 1 October 2019 for student clubs and 1 January 2020 for all other clubs.