## **BMC Specialist Committee: Membership and Terms of Reference 2019**

Committee name   Equity Steering Group	Committee name	Equity Steering Group
--	----------------	-----------------------

Members			Elected
	Chair	Cressida Allwood	
	Secretary	James McHaffie	
		Margi Bryant	
		John Churcher	
		Andy Coltart	
	BMC Deputy CEO	Nick Colton	
		John Crosbie	
		Mohammed Dhalech	
		Colin Dobson	
		John Ford	
		Neil Hewertson	
		Andrew Higson	
		Fida Hussain	
		Nick Liley	
		Cath Luke	
		Mahroof Malik	
		Laura May	
		Yassar Mustafa	
		Kaye Richards	
		Andy Say	
		Kamala Sen	
Paper Members			
		Jamie Andrew	
		Fran Brown	
		Marcus Drummond	
	BMC Vice-President	Emma Flaherty	
		Nicola Jasniecka	
		Chris Johnson	
		Chamu Kuppuswamy	
		Trevor Massiah	
		Rehan Siddiqui	
		Adnan Zaman	

## **Terms of Reference**

The role of the Equity Steering Group is to:

- Advise the BMC National Council and BMC Board of Directors on equality and equity issues.
- Guide the work of the BMC Equity & Partnerships Officer and support them to achieve their aims (the BMC intends to fill this post in future; the officer will also act as secretary to the group).
- Provide support on equity issues as needed by the BMC, including to specialist committees, BMC staff or external bodies (e.g. Mountain Training).
- Oversee the development, implementation and ongoing review of the BMC Equity Action Plan.
- Further research and identify the barriers to participation faced by under-represented groups. Establish and oversee work required to counteract these barriers including the promotion of the positive benefits of climbing, hill walking and mountaineering.

Reviewed by Committee	19 November 2018	
Agreed by Board	1 December 2018	