BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 email:office@thebmc.co.uk

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Saturday 16 April 2011 - Plas y Brenin

Minutes of the BMC AGM held at Plas y Brenin, Capel Curig at 4.00pm, Saturday 16 April 2011.

Directors Present:

Rab Carrington* President Director & Chair

David Lanceley* Honorary Treasurer Director

Dave Turnbull* CEO Company Secretary

* = also registered as voting members (below)

Voting Members Present:

(Note: membership categories stated refer to those recorded by individuals on the AGM registration form).

Steve Andrews Club Kathryn Baldwin Ind George Band Club John Barrett Club Roger Bennion Ind Bibby David Ind Nick Bond Club Andy Boorman Ind Rab Carrington Upgrade Deirdre Collier Ind Nick Colton Ind Fiona Devine Club Ed Douglas Club Martin Doyle Club **Duits** Steph Ind Julie Dundas Ind Craig **Ebbs** Club Paul Exley Club Flitcroft Catherine Ind Goldsmith Claire Club Goldsmith Dan Club K.C. Gordon Ind Anne Gregory Ind Jan Hall Club Graeme Hill Ind Tom Hutton Ind Barbara James Ind Mick Johnson Club Elfyn Jones Ind Nick Kurth Club David Lanceley Club Stuart Llewellyn Ind Steve Long Club Vin Machin Honorary John Mason Ind Mayfield Richard Club Sam Mayfield Club McKenzie lain Ind McMillan Neville Ind

Geoff Milburn Club John Moore Club David Mounsey Club Dave Musgrove Ind Marion Parsons Club Mike **Parsons** Ind Ratty Mike Ind Robinson Ind Lynn Tony Ryan Club Peter Salenieks Club Claudia Sarner Ind Martin Skinner Ind Trevor Smith Club Ali Stevens Club Pollv Sullivan Ind Dave Turnbull Club David Unwin Club Mark Vallance Club Wass Ind Jenny Wass Martin Ind Wieczorek Jerzy Ind Dave Williams Ind John Willson Honorary Rav Wood Ind Martin Ind Wragg

Others Present:

Richard Doubleday Perkins Slade David Fieldhouse Perkins Slade

BMC Staff Present:

Lynda Buckley Membership Services Team (MST) Manager

Jim Krawiecki MST Administrator
Suzanne Jones Project Co-ordinator
Arun Patel Senior MST Administrator

Hannah Skeldon MST Administrator

1. Welcome, introductions and apologies

Actions

- 1.1 Rab Carrington (Chair) opened the meeting and thanked everyone for attending.
- 1.2 The Chair introduced those seated at the top table David Lanceley (Honorary Treasurer), Dave Turnbull (BMC CEO) and Tony Ryan (minute-taker).
- 1.3 Apologies were received from: Gordon Adshead, David Bishop, Sir Chris Bonington, Ian Carr, Lord Roger Chorley, Ian Dunn, Neil Foster, Gary Gibson, Phil Gibson, Charles Gameson, Rob Greaves, Lindsay Griffin, Brian Griffiths, Alan Hinkes, Christian Lund, Iain MacCallum, Geoff Mason, Vic Odell, Robert Pettigrew, Daphne Pritchard, Graham Richmond, Doug Scott, Steve Scott, Audrey Seguy, Rehan Siddiqui, Angela Soper, Alison Stockwell, Colin Struthers, Scott Titt and Ken Wilson.
- 1.4 The Chair explained the voting procedures for the meeting. Individual votes would be counted first, followed by proxy votes.

2. Approval of the previous AGM minutes held on Saturday 17 April 2010

2.1 Rich Mayfield proposed the approval of the minutes, seconded by Martin Wragg.

For: 451 Against: 1 Abstentions: 31

The minutes were accepted as an accurate record and were signed by the President.

Agreed

David Lanceley confirmed that the action relating to item 4.2 of the 2010 minutes – a written explanation for Martin Wragg on how BMC owned crags and their subsidiary companies were recorded – had been completed.

- 3. Annual Report, 2010; adoption of the Annual Report
- 3.1 The Chair gave a brief summary of the report including: growth in membership; staff changes; local area issues and activities; and the work of the specialist committees, including the newly established Clubs Committee.
- 3.2 Nick Kurth proposed the adoption of the Report, seconded by Dave Musgrove.

For: 467 Against: 4 Abstentions: 14

The Annual Report was adopted.

Agreed

- 4. Adoption of the 2010 Annual Accounts and Auditors Report
- 4.1 RC invited Honorary Treasurer David Lanceley to summarise the accounts. DL said that 2010 had been reasonably successful; the £36k surplus, though not as great as previous years, was roughly as forecast. A clubs loan scheme (£200k) had been established.

DL also commented that the BMC was not liable for the £525k negative reserves of Mountain Training Trust (MTT) recorded in the notes to the accounts. This is primarily due to a pension fund liability from an earlier contract. It is a liability managed by MTT and Sport England but in any event will not fall to the BMC as MTT is a company limited by guarantee (BMC liability is £1).

- 4.2 Martin Wass asked about BMC reserves were they invested in cash, stocks or bonds? DL read out the list of banks in which the BMC holds its reserves.
 - K.C. Gordon enquired whether any of the banks were 'ethical banks'. DL noted that the BMC held £250k in the Co-operative Bank and that this returned a much lower rate than the BMC's other deposits.
- 4.3 Sam Mayfield proposed the adoption of the Annual Accounts and Auditors Report, seconded by Stephen Andrews.

For: 467 Against: 3 Abstentions: 18

The 2010 Annual Accounts and Auditors Report were adopted.

Agreed

5. Appointment of Auditors

- 5.1 The Finance Committee recommended the appointment of Bentley & Co as auditors for the year ending 31 December 2011.
 5.2 David Lanceley proposed the appointment, seconded by Martin Wragg.
 - For: 473 Against: 5 Abstentions: 8

Bentley & Co were appointed as auditors. Agreed

- 6. Elections
- 6.1 The following candidates were eligible for re-election:
- 6.1a **Rab Carrington** President (eligible for re-election until April 2012)

Proposed by Iain McKenzie, seconded by Rich Mayfield.

For: 477 Against: 5 Abstentions: 4

Rab Carrington was re-elected as President. Agreed

6.1b **Audrey Seguy** - Vice-President (eligible for re-election until April 2012)

Proposed by Ed Douglas, seconded by Nick Kurth.

For: 472 Against: 6 Abstentions: 9

Audrey Seguy was re-elected as Vice-President. Agreed

6.1c **Scott Titt** – Vice-President (eligible for re-election until April 2013)

Proposed by Jerzy Wieczorek, seconded by Rich Mayfield.

For: 470 Against: 4 Abstentions: 12

Scott Titt was re-elected as Vice-President.

Agreed

6.1d **David Lanceley** - Honorary Treasurer (eligible for re-election until April 2013)

Proposed by Jerzy Wieczorek, seconded by Mike Ratty.

For: 472 Against: 7 Abstentions: 9

David Lanceley was re-elected as Honorary Treasurer. Agreed

- 6.2 The following candidate was recommended by the BMC National Council for the position of Vice-President:
- 6.2e **Ed Douglas** (nominated by Mick Johnson and Tom Hutton)

For: 472 Against: 5 Abstentions: 10

Ed Douglas was elected as Vice-President. Agreed

RC welcomed Ed Douglas and thanked Rehan Siddiqui for his contribution as Vice President over the past 3 years

- 6.3 National Council recommended the appointment of **Brian Griffiths** as an Honorary Member of the BMC.
- 6.3f Proposed by Rab Carrington, seconded by John Mason.

For: 466 Against: 6 Abstentions: 16

Brian Griffiths was appointed an Honorary Member of the BMC.

Agreed

- 7. Membership subscriptions from 1 January 2012 to 31 December 2012
- 7.1 Resolution: The National Council recommends that subscription rates for 2012 remain unchanged at the levels set for 2011.

RC invited DL to comment on the resolution. DL said the Finance Committee had thought long and hard about increasing subs, but took the view that it was not necessary given the current level of reserves. The BMC's finances would be monitored closely over the coming year in advance of setting subscription levels for 2013.

7.2 Polly Sullivan proposed the motion, seconded by Dave Musgrove.

For: 480 Against: 2 Abstentions: 6

2012 subscription rates were set at the same levels as 2011. Agreed

The meeting was concluded at 4.50 pm.